Community Protection

Community Protection

Elizabeth Police Department

Phone (non emergency):  815-858-3314    
Phone (emergency):  911

The Elizabeth Police Department was created in the 19th Century shortly after the incorporation of the Village of Elizabeth.  The first recorded Constable was Richar Gott who served as Street Commissioner and Constable after appointment on May 17, 1880.  Later the the position of Town Constable became the Village Marshall.  The Elizabeth Police Department has evolved into a 21st century law enforcement agency with a focus on service and public safety.  All officers are Certified as Peace Officers by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board.

The officers of the Elizabeth Police Department are:

Fred Cass Chief of Police
Chief Cass was appointed in 2021 and has been in law enforcement for 28 years.  The Chief of Police is responsible for the operation of the Police Department.

Officer Jody Landwer
Officer Landwer has served the village as a Police Officer since 2010.  Officer Landwer started in law enforcement in 1999 and serves as Elizabeth's member of the Jo Daviess County Critical Incident Response Team.

Opioid Addiction Recovery Help specializes in connecting people with the resources and tools they need to recover from opioid addiction.

Contact Us

Village of Elizabeth
200 E. Myrtle Street
P.O. Box 236
Elizabeth, IL 61028

Village Office
Phone: 815-858-3911
Hours: M-Th 8:30am-Noon & 1-3:30pm

Village President
Jason Thomasson